What are Senior Communities?

Senior Communities are health promoting, capacity building, and community focal points on aging where older persons come together for services and activities that enhance their dignity, support their independence and encourage their involvement in and with the community. Senior communities are open to all individuals 55 years and older, or retired. Senior communities provide programs that offer core health services, are governed by a community-based board of directors, respond to diverse needs of older persons, hire professionals, provide education, develop innovative programming approaches, and are a community resource for information on aging.

The Philosophy of Manitoba Senior Communities

Aging is a normal part of the developmental process. We all need peers with whom they can interact and who are available as a source of encouragement and support. As older adults we have the right to have a voice in determining matters in which we have a vital interest. A person’s sense of well-being is enhanced when one obtains balance and satisfaction in the various personal components, such as emotional, physical, social, intellectual, and spiritual. Members and Volunteers form the backbone of senior communities.

Our Locations

Click on the red location marker to highlight the member community and then on their title for more information.  Use the zoom in and out buttons (in the upper left corner of the map) to locate additional communities.


Help Starts Here Dial 211

Calling 2-1-1 or visiting mb.211.ca can connect you to community resources and services anywhere in Manitoba. This service is free, confidential, and available in 150+ languages. 211 can help older adults find resources for: Meals for Seniors, Pension and Income Support, Transportation, Recreation, Housing and Home Maintenance, Home Health Care, Elder Abuse, Daily Hello/Friendly Visiting Program and more!

Thank You to Our Supporters!

The Manitoba Association of Senior Communities is located on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, Dene and Metis peoples as well as the National Homeland of the Red River Métis .

Our primary office is located on Treaty 1 Territory – our work extends throughout Treaties 2, 3, 4 and 5.  We respect the Treaties formed on these territories.